The Federal Government of Nigeria has constituted a 37-member Tripartite Committee tasked with negotiating and reaching an agreement on the new minimum wage.

According to an official government statement, the panel members are scheduled to be inaugurated tomorrow at Aso Villa.

The panel will be chaired by Alhaji Bukar Goni Aji, the former Head of Service of the Federation (HoCSF).

Additional members on the panel are selected from various sectors, including representatives from the Federal Government, state governments, labor unions, and the private sector.

A statement from Segun Imohioson, representing the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, listed the names of the panel members as:
“From the Federal Government, the members include, Minister of Labour & Employment (State), Mrs. Nkeiruka Onyejeocha; Minister of Finance & Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun; Minister of Budget & Economic Planning, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu; HoCSF Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan; the Permanent Secretary GSO OSGF, Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri and National Salaries, Income Wages and Commission (NSIWC) Chairman/CEO, Ekpo Nta”

Ekpo has been appointed to serve as the secretary of the panel.

Representing the states are governors Mohammed Umar Bago (Niger, Northcentral), Bala Mohammed (Bauchi, Northeast), Umar Dikko Radda (Katsina, Northwest), Prof. Charles Soludo (Anambra, Southeast), Ademola Adeleke (Osun, Southwest) and Bassey Otu (Cross Rivers, Southsouth).

The OPS has the following as representatives from the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA) – Director-General Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, Mr. Chuma Nwankwo, Mr. Thompson Akpabio, the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) – National President, Asiwaju Michael Olawale-Cole; National Vice President, Dr. Ahmed Rabiu and Chief Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), National Life President.

The statement reads: “The membership from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME) are: Dr. Abdulrashid Yerima, President & Chairman of Council; Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu, private sector representative; Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello, Zonal Vice President, Northwest.

“From the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) are: Mrs Grace Omo-Lamai, Human Resource Director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, mni, Director-General, MAN; Lady Ada Chukwudozie, Managing Director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

“From the organised Labour – the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) Joe Ajaero (President); Emmanuel Ugboaja; Prince Adeyanju Adewale; Ambali Akeem Olatunji; Benjamin Anthony and Prof. Theophilus Ndukuba.

“The Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) has Festus Osifo (President); Tommy Etim Okon (Deputy President I); Kayode Surajudeen Alakija (Deputy President II).”

The current minimum wage of N30,000 went into effect five years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *