On Tuesday, the Federal Government of Nigeria, via the Federal Ministry of Education, disclosed a list of 18 foreign universities that are banned in the country.

Recall that the federal government had previously suspended the evaluation and accreditation of degree certificates from the Republic of Benin and Togo in response to a related scandal.

The Nigerian government also warned Nigerians to avoid enrolling in such institutions.

The decision was due to an undercover investigation conducted by DAILY NIGERIAN newspaper, which unravelled the activity of a degree mill in Cotonou, a major city of Benin Republic.

As per the investigation, the investigative reporter allegedly obtained a degree from Cotonou University within six weeks and subsequently took part in the mandatory one-year scheme organized by the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).

Full list of foreign universities delisted by the NUC

  1. University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin or any of its other campuses in Nigeria.
  2. Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana or any of its other campuses in Nigeria.
  3. The International University, Missouri, USA, Kano and Lagos Study Centres, or any of its campuses in Nigeria.
  4. Collumbus University, UK, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  5. Tiu International University, UK operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  6. Pebbles University, UK operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  7. London External Studies UK operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  8. Pilgrims University operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  9. West African Christian University is operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  10. EC-Council University, USA, Ikeja Lagos Study Centre.
  11. Concept College/Universities (London) Ilorin or any of its campuses in Nigeria.
  12. Houdegbe North American University campuses in Nigeria.
  13. Irish University Business School London, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  14. University of Education, Winneba Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  15. Cape Coast University, Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  16. African University Cooperative Development, Cotonou, Benin Republic, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  17. Pacific Western University, Denver, Colorado, Owerri Study Centre.
  18. Evangel University of America and Chudick Management Academic, Lagos.
One thought on “FULL LIST: FG announces delisted universities in Nigeria”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *