The President of Nigeria, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of Dr. Dayo Mobereola as the new Director General of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA).

Chief Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, disclosed the appointment in a statement on Tuesday, in Abuja.

Dr. Mobereola holds a Ph.D, and an M.Sc in Transport Economics from the University of Wales in the United Kingdom (UK).

He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Transport (England), and a fellow of the same institute in Nigeria.

He was the Managing Director of Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA) from 2003 to 2015 and was the Commissioner for Transportation from 2015 to 2016.

In the private sector, Mobereola was Deputy Managing Director and Project Development Director at AFM Consulting Plc in London.

He was also a Senior Economist at British Petroleum Shipping Limited of London.

Also yesterday, the President approved the appointment Chairman and Commissioners of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Civil Service Commission (CSC).

Five months ago, FCT Minister Nyesom Wike had said the President had been briefed about the appointments and was set to make a pronouncement on them.

The appointees are: Emeka Ezeh (Chairman), Ahmed Mohammed (Northwest), Chief Anthony Okeah (Southsouth), Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim (Northeast), Miskoom Alexander Naantuam (Northcentral), Jide Jimoh (Southwest), and Martin Azubike (Southeast).

The President also approved Abdulkadir Zulkarfi as the Coordinator of Satellite Town Development Department (STDD), Chief Felix Obuah as the Coordinator of Abuja Metropolitan Management Council (AMMC), and Oladiran Olufemi Akindele as the Coordinator of Abuja Infrastructure Investment Council (AIIC).

President Tinubu has also appointed the most senior director of the FCTA, Mr. Atang Udo Samuel, the Head of the Civil Service.

He approved the appointment of 10 other officials as Permanent Secretaries.

A statement by the Director of Press in the Office of the FCT Minister, Anthony Ogunleye, said the new permanent secretaries are: Dr. Adam Babagana (Northeast), Wanki Adamu Ibrahim (Northeast), Asmau Mukhtar (Northwest), Dogo Aliyu Wadata Bodinga (Northwest), Olusa Olusegun (Southwest), Adetoyi Rabiu Kolawole (Southwest), Grace Adayilo (Northcentral), Olubunmi Olowookere (Northcentral), Ibe Prospect Chukwuemeka (Southeast), and Okonkwo Florence Nonubari (Southsouth).

The appointees, Ogunleye said, will be sworn in on March 18.

He said the appointments take immediate effect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *